Must Have Experience in Transformation

Standard

While seeking writing jobs I recently hit the wall that many of us might know quite well:

Must have experience in…

That “E” word! Ah, it kills me! Of course, I have experience in writing. I can write a grocery list, a check to pay my credit card bills, and especially a witty status on Facebook. But when it comes to SEO content writing, extensive knowledge of keywords, and previous publication of my work, I fall devastatingly short.

Eventually though, I believed I hit the jackpot. There exists a finely-tuned, well-established company that will sell original, “plagiarism-free” papers and essays for all academic areas and levels. They have writers who will write everyday essays, and even your thesis or dissertation if you so desire.

Finally! An opportunity I knew I would excel in. I have plenty of academic writing experience, and plenty of saved documents all over my computer and the internet to back me up. I wrote an extra convincing introduction of myself explaining how I am a member of not one, but TWO Honor Societies that invite folks in for academic excellence, and I attached my super impressive resume with all the perfect buzzwords that would surely get me hired.

Two days later, I received an email informing me I was indeed HIRED!

My mind wooshed and whirled at the thought…

Academic writing is what I do all the time! It’ll be like free money! This is great!

Still, something didn’t feel quite right.

Romans 12:2
"And be not conformed to this world: but be ye transformed by the renewing of your mind, 
that ye may prove what is that good, and acceptable, and perfect, will of God.

There it was! That sick feeling wasn’t just nerves of a new job. It was the Holy Spirit reminding me of my place and role as a Christian. The verse swam around in my head like hearing “It’s a Small World After All” on Disneyland’s Main Street. I couldn’t shake it, but I did try to justify it.

Lord, if I don’t write these papers, it’s not like the person won’t find someone else to write it for them.

Lord, my name won’t be anywhere on this paper.

Lord, I’ll just keep this to myself. If someone asks what I’ve been working at, I’ll just find something else to say.

God’s response: Be not conformed…be ye transformed…be not conformed…be ye transformed.

But Lord! I’d be so good at it!

God’s response: …that ye may prove what is that good and acceptable and perfect will of God.

I couldn’t shake it. Everything in me wanted to ignore it. Finally, I had someone not asking for my experience and there I was being convicted and burdened. I mentioned my Honor Societies to enhance my chances at getting selected for a dishonorable trade. I was utilizing my God-given skills to potentially pass up the real opportunity of showing God’s good and acceptable will through my work. I was inviting shame and guilt from the get-go by already thinking of a cover for any questions that might come my way.

I responded to the email with polite rejection of and gratitude for the opportunity by the company. But I will be honest, O Souls, it was sent begrudgingly from a bitter place. I knew it was the right thing to do, but I had not yet felt the gooshy feelings of having done the right thing.

James 3:17-18
"But the wisdom that is from above is first pure, then peaceable, gentle, and easy 
to be entreated, full of mercy and good fruits, without partiality, and with 
hypocrisy. And the fruit of righteousness is sown in peace of them that make peace."

God never promised gooshy feelings, but He does promise peace. Wisdom from above is what produces good fruits of righteousness that will make it possible for us to prove God’s perfect, good, acceptable will. This is a promise. It is not a matter of feeling it, it is a matter of believing it to be true.

Hebrews 11:1
"Now faith is the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen."

I did what was right, with a heart full of sadness from a lost “opportunity”, but steeped in hope that God would soon provide the peace that comes from following His Word.

O Souls, as we seek new opportunities and make big time decisions in our lives, let us seek God’s wisdom and strength to be bold enough to reject what the world says is acceptable and OK. Arise with me and let’s keep our faith and trust in God’s ability to see far beyond any future we are able to conceive on our own.

Leave a Reply

